Biography of Joel Embiid: facts, childhood and personal life Networth

Joel Embiid is a Cameroonian professional basketball player who is one of the few talented, resilient, optimistic and determined stars in the NBA. Although early in his career he had his share of injuries and challenges, while striving for excellence in the NBA, he always refused to succumb to the latter's difficulties. He had to deal with personal tragedies that occurred in difficult times. Despite all of this, Joel Embiid has bravely overcome the gloom to become one of basketball's fastest rising stars and continues to make a name for himself in the business. We give a detailed masterpiece in our biography of Joel Embiid: facts, childhood and personal life.

Joel Embiid Biographical facts

Full Name : Joel hans embiid
Nickname: Jojo ; The process
Born : March 16, 1994 (25 years old)
Place of birth : Yaoundé, Cameroon
nationality: Camerounais
Occupation: Basketball player
Current team: Philadelphia 76ers
Position: Centre
Play the career: 2014-present
Net value : 35 million
The height : 7 feet 0 inches
Shoes size: 17
Weight: 250 lb (113 kg)
Education: The Rock School; University of Kansas
The parents : Thomas Embiid (father), Christine Embiid (mother)
Brothers and sisters : Arthur Embiid; Muriel Embiid
Partner : Anne de Paula (girlfriend)
Children: N/A
Zodiac sign : Fish

Joel Embiid Childhood and early childhood

Born in Yaoundé, Cameroon, Embiid is the eldest of three children to whom Thomas Embiid and Christine Embiid gave birth.

Young Joel Embiid playing with his dad

Embiid's parents wanted young Embiid to become a doctor. Although Embiid aspired to play volleyball in Europe, he started playing basketball at the age of 15, emulating the style of play of NBA star Hakeem Olajuwon.

The young Joel Embiid his mother

During a basketball camp, Embiid's talent was noticed by Cameroonian NBA player Mbah Moute. He emigrated to the United States the following year where he played basketball at Montverde Academy.

Joel Embiid Basketball career

Career in high school

Embiid went on to play basketball at Christian Academy, The Rock School, Florida. He had an impressive performance at Rock, including the State Championship. ->

Academic career

After graduating from high school, Embiid attended the University of Kansas where he continued his basketball career. Although he played in Kansas for a year, Embiid left his mark there. He was one of the finalists for Naismith College's Player of the Year award. He was also named the Big 12 Defensive Player of the Year and was a part of the All-Big 12 Second Team. He had to deal with an injury that kept him out of the NCAA tournament as well as at the Big 12 tournaments. ->

Career

Philadelphia 76ers (2014-present)

Despite his injury, Embiid made it to the 2014 NBA Draft. Embiid entered the selection, meaning he lost the remaining three years of study at college. The Philadelphia 76ers selected Embiid as their third pick six days after his entry into selection, becoming the third and best Cameroonian to be selected for the NBA. Embiid's NBA debut has been delayed for two seasons due to his foot injury.

After missing the 2014/15 season, he was due to make his debut in the 2015/16 season but this was put on hold due to the slow recovery. However, he made his debut for the Philadelphia 76ers in a preseason game against the Boston Celtics on October 4, 2016. Embiid appeared to be ready for his long-awaited debut as he recorded 6 points, 4 rebounds. and 2 blocks in 13 minutes of action. His regular season debut was even better as he recorded 20 points, 7 rebounds and 2 blocks in 25 minutes of action against the Oklahoma City Thunder. Embiid continued his momentum, earning him the Eastern Conference Rookie of the Month for October and November. He then repeated the feat in December. In January 2017, he was voted Eastern Conference Player of the Month and Eastern Conference Rookie of the Month. He was also named to the global team for the Rising Stars Challenge 2017. ->

Sadly, Embiid was unable to attend the 2017 All-Star Weekend events due to a torn meniscus in his left knee. After a successful operation in March, Embiid was ruled out for the remainder of the season, however he was named to the 2017 NBA All-Rookie First team. Embiid signed a Rookie contract with the Philadelphia 76er from a worth $ 148 million. The contract saw Embiid earn an additional $ 30 million if he was named to the NBA's first, second or third team or if he won the title of MVP of the 2017/18 season. Embiid continued in his impressive form. He was named the 2018 NBA All-Star Game starter. Embiid then received the Easter Conference Player of the Week honors in January and February. In a game against the New York Knicks on March 28, Embiid suffered a broken left eye. He was operated on 3 days after the incident.

Joel Embiid in action for the Philadelphia 76ers

During the 2918/19 season, Embiid joined the ranks of players such as Hakeem Olajuwon, Shaquille O'Neal, Ralph Sampson and others who recorded 2 points, 000 rebounds and 1 rebounds in their first 000 matches. Despite injuries, Embiid continued to be in good shape. The Philadelphia 200ers progressed to the playoffs but lost to the Toronto Raptors. During the second round of the play-offs, Embiid suffered from an illness. ->

National team career

Although Embiid is eligible to play for the Cameroon national team, he did not play in the 2017 FIBA ​​Afro Basket held in the Republic of Congo. Los Angeles Clipper player Luc Mbah a Moute said if Embiid played for Cameroon it would be great for Cameroon as well as Embiid himself.

Joel Embiid Personal life

  • Father on board, Thomas is a military officer.
  • Embiid has two siblings, his sister Muriel and his brother Arthur.
  • In 2014, Arthur, Embiid's younger brother, died in a car accident.
  • Embiid speaks English, French and Basaa, his Cameroonian mother tongue.
  • Embiid abstains from any form of alcoholic beverages.
  • He is currently dating Brazilian model Anne de Paula.
  • Embiid is a prominent social media personality, with over 1,6 million Twitter followers, over 3,5 million Instagram followers and over 298 Facebook pages.
  • He is known for his funny articles on social media.

Joel Embiid Highlights, achievements and awards

  1. NBA All Star (2018, 2019)
  2. NBA Second Team (2018, 2019)
  3. NBA Second Defensive Team (2018, 2019)
  4. NBA Rookie First Team (2017)
  5. Second Team All-Big 12 (2014)
  6. The 12 great defensive players of the year (2014)
  7. All-Defensive Big 12 Team (2014)
  8. The 12 newcomers team (2014)

Verification of the facts

At Themoney.com, we try to be fair and precise. If you have any doubts about anything that does not seem correct in this Joel Embiid Biography - Facts, Childhood & Personal Life, please don't hesitate to contact us. ->

Zeen is a next generation WordPress theme. It's powerful, beautifully designed and comes with everything you need to engage your visitors and increase conversions.

Biographie de Joel Embiid : faits, enfance et vie personnelle Networth

Joel Embiid est un joueur de basketball professionnel camerounais qui est l’une des rares stars talentueuses, résistantes, optimistes et déterminées de la NBA. Bien qu’au début de sa carrière, il ait connu sa part de blessures et de défis, en recherchant l’excellence en NBA, il a toujours refusé de succomber aux difficultés de cette dernière. Il a dû faire face à des tragédies personnelles qui se sont produites dans des moments difficiles. Malgré tout cela, Joel Embiid a courageusement surmonté la morosité pour devenir l’une des étoiles montantes les plus rapides du basket-ball et continue à se faire un nom dans le milieu. Nous donnons un chef-d’œuvre détaillé dans notre biographie de Joel Embiid : faits, enfance et vie personnelle.

Joel Embiid Faits biographiques

Nom complet : Joel Hans Embiid
Surnom : JoJo ; Le processus
Né : 16 mars 1994 (25 ans)
Lieu de naissance : Yaoundé, Cameroun
Nationalité : Camerounais
Occupation : Joueur de basket-ball
Équipe actuelle : Philadelphie 76ers
Position : Centre
Jouer la carrière : 2014-présent
Valeur nette : 35 millions de dollars
La hauteur : 7 pieds 0 pouces
Taille des chaussures : 17
Poids : 250 lb (113 kg)
L’éducation : The Rock School ; Université du Kansas
Les parents : Thomas Embiid (père), Christine Embiid (mère)
Les frères et sœurs : Arthur Embiid ; Muriel Embiid
Partenaire : Anne de Paula (petite amie)
Les enfants : N/A
Signe du zodiaque : Poissons

Joel Embiid Enfance et petite enfance

Né à Yaoundé au Cameroun, Embiid est l’aîné des trois enfants auxquels Thomas Embiid et Christine Embiid ont donné naissance.

Le jeune Joel Embiid jouant avec son père
Photo d’enfance du jeune Joel Embiid jouant avec son père, Thomas Embiid. (Image : UA Newsroom)

Les parents d’Embiid voulaient que le jeune Embiid devienne médecin. Bien qu’Embiid ait aspiré à jouer au volley-ball en Europe, il a commencé à jouer au basket-ball à l’âge de 15 ans, imitant le style de jeu de la star de la NBA Hakeem Olajuwon.

Le jeune Joel Embiid sa mère
Photo d’enfance du jeune Joel Embiid fêtant son anniversaire avec sa mère, Christine Embiid. (Image : UA Newsroom)

Lors d’un camp de basket-ball, le talent d’Embiid a été remarqué par le joueur de NBA camerounais Mbah Moute. Il a émigré aux États-Unis l’année suivante où il a joué au basket à la Montverde Academy.

Joel Embiid Carrière dans le domaine du basket-ball

Carrière au lycée

Embiid a ensuite joué au basketball à la Christian Academy, The Rock School, en Floride. Il a réalisé une performance impressionnante au Rock, dont le championnat d’État. –>

Carrière universitaire

Après avoir obtenu son diplôme d’études secondaires, Embiid a fréquenté l’université du Kansas où il a poursuivi sa carrière de basketteur. Bien qu’il ait joué au Kansas pendant un an, Embiid y a laissé son empreinte. Il a fait partie des finalistes pour le prix du joueur de l’année du Naismith College. Il a également été nommé joueur défensif de l’année du Big 12 et a fait partie de la deuxième équipe All-Big 12. Il a dû faire face à une blessure qui l’a empêché de participer au tournoi de la NCAA ainsi qu’aux tournois des Big 12. –>

Carrière professionnelle

Philadelphie 76ers (2014-présent)

Malgré sa blessure, Embiid a participé à la draft NBA 2014. Embiid est entré dans la sélection, ce qui signifie qu’il a perdu les trois années d’études restantes à l’université. Les 76ers de Philadelphie ont sélectionné Embiid comme troisième choix six jours après son entrée en sélection, devenant ainsi le troisième et meilleur Camerounais à être sélectionné en NBA. Les débuts d’Embiid en NBA ont été retardés de deux saisons en raison de sa blessure au pied.

Après avoir manqué la saison 2014/15, il devait faire ses débuts lors de la saison 2015/16 mais celle-ci a été interrompue en raison de la lenteur de la reprise. Cependant, il a fait ses débuts avec les 76ers de Philadelphie lors d’un match de pré-saison contre les Celtics de Boston le 4 octobre 2016. Embiid semblait être prêt pour ses débuts tant attendus puisqu’il a enregistré 6 points, 4 rebonds et 2 blocs en 13 minutes d’action. Ses débuts en saison régulière ont été encore meilleurs puisqu’il a enregistré 20 points, 7 rebonds et 2 blocs en 25 minutes d’action contre le Thunder d’Oklahoma City. Embiid a continué sur sa lancée, ce qui lui a valu d’être élu « Recrue du mois » de la Conférence de l’Est pour octobre et novembre. Il a ensuite répété l’exploit en décembre. En janvier 2017, il a été élu Joueur du mois de la Conférence de l’Est et recrue du mois de la Conférence de l’Est. Il a également été nommé dans l’équipe mondiale pour le Rising Stars Challenge 2017. –>

Malheureusement, Embiid n’a pas pu participer aux événements du All-Star Weekend 2017 en raison d’une déchirure du ménisque du genou gauche. Après une opération réussie en mars, Embiid a été exclu pour le reste de la saison, il a cependant été nommé dans l’équipe All-Rookie First de la NBA 2017. Embiid a signé un contrat de Rookie avec le Philadelphia 76er d’une valeur de 148 millions de dollars. Le contrat permettait à Embiid de gagner 30 millions de dollars supplémentaires s’il était nommé dans la première, deuxième ou troisième équipe de la NBA ou s’il remportait le titre de joueur le plus utile de la saison 2017/18. Embiid a continué dans sa forme impressionnante. Il a ainsi été nommé comme starter du All-Star Game de la NBA en 2018. Embiid a ensuite reçu les honneurs de Joueur de la semaine de la Conférence de Pâques au mois de janvier et février. Lors d’un match contre les New York Knicks le 28 mars, Embiid a subi une fracture de l’œil gauche. Il a été opéré 3 jours après l’incident.

Joel Embiid en action pour les 76ers de Philadelphie
Joel Embiid (au centre) des 76ers de Philadelphie prenant un coup franc. (Image : New York Post)

Au cours de la saison 2918/19, Embiid a rejoint les rangs de joueurs tels que Hakeem Olajuwon, Shaquille O’Neal, Ralph Sampson et d’autres qui ont enregistré 2 000 points, 1 000 rebonds et 200 rebonds lors de leurs 100 premiers matchs. Malgré des blessures, Embiid a continué à être en bonne forme. Les 76ers de Philadelphie ont progressé jusqu’aux éliminatoires mais ont perdu contre les Raptors de Toronto. Au cours du deuxième tour des play-offs, Embiid était atteint d’une maladie. –>

Carrière de l’équipe nationale

Bien qu’Embiid soit éligible pour jouer avec l’équipe nationale du Cameroun, il n’a pas joué dans le FIBA Afro Basket 2017 organisé en République du Congo. Le joueur du Los Angeles Clipper, Luc Mbah a Moute, a déclaré que si Embiid jouait pour le Cameroun, ce serait formidable pour le Cameroun ainsi que pour Embiid lui-même.

Joel Embiid Vie personnelle

  • Père embarqué, Thomas est un officier militaire.
  • Embiid a deux frères et soeurs, sa soeur Muriel et son frère Arthur.
  • En 2014, Arthur, le frère cadet d’Embiid, est mort dans un accident de voiture.
  • Embiid parle l’anglais, le français et le basaa, sa langue maternelle camerounaise.
  • Embiid s’abstient de toute forme de boissons alcoolisées.
  • Il sort actuellement avec le mannequin brésilien Anne de Paula.
  • Embiid est une personnalité éminente des médias sociaux, avec plus de 1,6 million de followers sur Twitter, plus de 3,5 millions de followers sur Instagram et plus de 298 000 pages sur Facebook.
  • Il est connu pour ses articles amusants sur les médias sociaux.

Joel Embiid Faits marquants, réalisations et prix

  1. NBA All-Star (2018, 2019)
  2. Deuxième équipe de la NBA (2018, 2019)
  3. Deuxième équipe défensive de la NBA (2018, 2019)
  4. Première équipe de débutants de la NBA (2017)
  5. Deuxième équipe All-Big 12 (2014)
  6. Les 12 grands joueurs défensifs de l’année (2014)
  7. L’équipe tout-défensif des 12 grands (2014)
  8. L’équipe des 12 nouveaux arrivants (2014)

Vérification des faits

Chez SportyTell.com, nous nous efforçons d’être justes et précis. Si vous avez des doutes sur quelque chose qui ne semble pas correct dans cette biographie de Joel Embiid – Faits, enfance et vie personnelle, n’hésitez pas à nous contacter. –>

Zeen is a next generation WordPress theme. It’s powerful, beautifully designed and comes with everything you need to engage your visitors and increase conversions.

Plus d'articles
Les 20 plus anciens diplômés en affaires de l'Université Carnegie Mellon